I Started the Semester with 46 Students

I ended with about 30.

Matthew Thiele
4 min readApr 30, 2022
An empty classroom
Photo by MChe Lee on Unsplash

Normally, 46 is a great number. In my busiest semesters, I have had over 100 students, mostly in writing-intensive classes. If all of my classes had been full this semester, I would have had close to 100 students. I know that many teachers at all levels have many more than that.

Teaching writing-intensive classes requires a staggering amount of time and care. People who don’t teach writing tend to grossly underestimate the time and energy it takes to read student writing and provide constructive feedback.

Having 46 students in a semester means that I can give each student more individual attention. It means that I have the time I need to prepare fully for each class and spend as much time as I need to conscientiously assess student work.

This is how it should be, and I have certainly earned a break. The Conference on College Composition and Communication (CCCC), part of the National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE), recommends an ideal class size of 15 students for composition classes. Writing classes with more than 20 students contribute to a work environment that is not reasonable or equitable according to the CCCC’s Principles for the Postsecondary Teaching of Writing. These are good guidelines, but almost no school follows them. My writing classes have…

--

--

Matthew Thiele

Independent scholar and satirist. Published in Slackjaw, Points in Case, McSweeney’s, Ben Jonson Journal, and other fine publications.